1934

South East Pylon opens to tourists.

An enterprising businessman called Archer Whitford converted the pylon into a popular tourist venue. Attractions included a camera obscura, an Aboriginal museum, a supreme café, a "Mother's Nook" (a place to write dutiful letters home) and a 'pashometer' on which visitors could measure their sex appeal. At the viewing platform "a host of charming attendants" assisted visitors to use telescopes on offer.

© 2003 Pylon Lookout™ (www.pylonlookout.com.au)

 

click here click here click here click here click here click here click here click here click here